## **DESOTO COUNTY, FLORIDA**

RESOLUTION 2025-\_\_\_\_

RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF DESOTO COUNTY, **FLORIDA** APPOINTING AND REAPPOINTING MEMBERS ON THE DESOTO COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners (the "Board") adopted Resolution 2013-49, providing for an Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC), establishing committee composition, duties and responsibilities, qualifications, and initial appointments, which is codified in Division 4, of Article III, of Chapter 2 of the DeSoto County Code of Ordinances; and

**WHEREAS,** the seat of Jessica Wilkes has been vacated, and pursuant to the aforementioned code sections, the Board shall re-appoint members when a vacancy exists; and

**WHEREAS**, appointment of EDAC members is based upon the recommendation of staff and approval by the Board; and

**WHEREAS**, staff reviewed the submittals in accordance with the composition requirements and recommends appointment of Gordon "Mac" Martin in the Private Business Sector to fill the vacancy; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board hereby deems it necessary for the continuity of the Committee and voting membership records to adopt a resolution indicating and clarifying current members and their respective term appointments and expirations of same; and

**WHEREAS**, adoption of this resolution is in the best interest of the residents of DeSoto County.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONGS OF DESOTO COUNTY, FLORIDA, AS FOLLOWS:

<u>Section 1.</u> That the foregoing "WHEREAS" clauses are ratified and confirmed as being true and correct and are hereby incorporated by reference as part of this resolution.

<u>Section 2.</u> The following individuals are hereby appointed by the Board to serve on the Economic Development Advisory Committee for the identified term:

- 1. Mandy Hines, County Commission Appt. (Term expires Feb. 2026)
- 2. Beth Carsten, City of Arcadia Appt. (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 3. Asena Mott, Education (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 4. Jacqualine Wolcott, Financial Sector (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 5. Debbie Wertz, County Government (Term expires Feb. 2026)
- 6. Robert Womack, Private Sector (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 7. Janet Harvin, Private Sector (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 8. Lynn Shelfer, Private Agriculture Sector (Term expires Feb. 2026)
- 9. Eric Bautista, Private Sector (Term expires Feb. 2026)
- 10. Andrew Neuhofer, Private Sector Agriculture (Term expires Feb. 2027)
- 11. Akos Jankura, Private Sector (Term Expires June 2027)
- 12. Addison Reesor, Private Sector (Term Expires June 2027)
- 13. Mac Martin, Private Sector (Term Expires June 2027)

<u>Section 3.</u> That this resolution shall take effect immediately upon its adoption.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 8th day of July 2025.

ATTEST:	OF DESOTO COUNTY, FLORIDA
By: Mandy Hines County Administrator	J.C. Deriso, Chairman
Approved as to form and leg	al sufficiency:
By: Valerie Vicente, County Attorney	